Friday’s Neoligistic Mental Exercise

And finally on this verbal diarrhoea Friday, because it’s vaguely that time again, here is this week’s mental exercise.  This one is simple enough: invent a new word and use it in a conversation or twelve.

Here are some ideas to get you started.

Confound others with compound words, such as:

Flabbergusted – flabbergasted plus disgusted: the sensation of being rendered speechless by something because said something made you feel seriously nauseous.

Confuse others by adapting an existing word but giving it a slightly new meaning:

Locomotion – derived from the word ‘motion’ as in movement and loco as in Spanish for crazy.  Literally: the act of walking in a random but crazed fashion.

Do a Douglas Adams and give a meaning to a location:

Chiswick – the feeling of extreme light-headedness one sometimes feel if one stands up too quickly.

Go for broke and just stick some random letters together:

Cludgeblethle – descriptive word meaning a person who used to be fun but has now become prematurely middle-aged and also worryingly fixated on the importance of fibre to aid one’s unmentionable biological processes.  Example: that guy is such a cludgeblethle.

__

PS: for the sake of all that is good and holy, please don’t simply take a noun and turn it into a verb.  Even though that’s probably how most of my native tongue developed.

7 thoughts on “Friday’s Neoligistic Mental Exercise

  1. Flabbergusted. I had not one, but two occasions in the past week where that sentiment would have worked (and that never happens to me). Oddly enough it was the same event in two very different books. If you’d posted this a week earlier, I could of included flabbergusted in my review of one and counted how many times I was politely informed I had a typo.

    I generally don’t make up words (sadly), but I am partial to using the expression figjam. Unfortunately most people think I am referring to fig jam – sort of loses the effect.

    1. fuck I’m great, just ask me.

      Except wasn’t that in a Kathy Lette novel (Mad Cows)? And would you really want to indicate that you’ve read her stuff..?

      Or have I just revealed far too much

      1. Ah, by expression I should have clarified I meant an already accepted word. It’s a popular Australian acronym (expression?) that I learned from an Australian, which is where Kathy Lette is from. I’ve never heard of her, but you have. That says a lot, so you may have revealed too much, but it’s good to be well rounded. And we all have guilty pleasures – I read graphic novels, you read mummy lit…?

      2. Er…I also read graphic novels.

        I read some pretty odd things when I was a child, so I feel I can safely blame my parents…

      3. Of course.

        I read odd things too, they were called Judy Blume books (with more than a few Sweet Valley High books thrown in). I drew the line at Ann M. Martin books. Actually, my mother only reads romance novels, I will never admit to the things I read as a child. It was all very enlightening though.

      4. Yeah I ticked off a few Judy Blumes and Sweet Valley High too… When they moved out our next door neighbours gave us a load of their kids’ old stuff. Unfortunately their kids were both teenage girls so there wasn’t much my brother and I could make use of, us being 8 and 6 and all. Still, without their well-meaning act I probably would never have read all the Nancy Drew books.

      5. I still remember, in detail, the plot of The Secret of Shadow Ranch. It was my favorite, along with The Hidden Staircase.

Leave a Reply

